Green Bay Estuary Digital Archives Collection

Organization

When browsing, the items display alphabetically by Geographic Location. When searching, results display in date order.

Searching with Facets

The Green Bay Estuary Digital Archives Collection was designed to be easily searched using facets, which act as filters and improve navigation in the digital collection. The facets are built from controlled vocabularies, or subject headings, which are specific words and phrases that are used to describe, organize, and retrieve content. The Green Bay Estuary Digital Archives Collection has five facets that can be used to search the collection: Date, Geographic Location, County, Format, and Subjects.

In the digital collection, the facets are located on the left-hand side of the screen.

Each facet is organized by the number of occurrences of that particular subject heading or date, with ones occurring the most showing at the top and the least at the bottom. The full list can be viewed by clicking Show More.

Skim the terms in the facet carefully. When you find one that fits your research needs, click on it. As an example, if you are interested in looking at materials regarding the East River, click on the subject heading "East River (Calumet County and Brown County, Wis.)" from the Geographic Location facet.

From here, results can be filtered further. For example, if you are interested in looking at aerial views of the East River, you can select the "Aerial photographs" subject heading from the Format facet.

At first glance, some of the results may not seem to be about the East River. However, if you select one of the results, specific items that are relevant to the search terms "East River (Calumet County and Brown County, Wis.)" and "Aerial photographs" will be highlighted in the record.

Those same search terms will also be highlighted in the record's metadata.

Often, records in the digital collection will contain many individual items within them, as shown here. To limit what displays in the record, you can click the "Filtered" button, which will only display items that are relevant to your search terms.

If you have any questions about how to use the facets in the Green Bay Estuary Digital Archives Collection, contact archives@uwgb.edu.

Other Search Methods

In addition to facets, you can also use key-word searching with the search bar or the Advanced Search. Both are located in the top right-hand corner in the digital collection.

Here are some tips and tricks to improve your searches in the digital collection:

• Be specific with the terms you use in the search bar or in the Advanced Search. For example, if you are looking up images of the old Pulliam Power Plant, use "Pulliam Power Plant" as your search instead of "images of the Pulliam Power Plant".
• Don't be afraid to use different variations of a place name. Names of locations often change over time, so make sure you are using different variations to get the most results. For example, if you're using the term "Bay Beach" to search, but not getting the results you want, try "Bay View Beach" as well.
• Avoid using quotation marks around your search terms.
• When using the Advanced Search, make sure that you only have the Green Bay Estuary Digital Archives Collection selected from the list of collections. Otherwise, you will be searching across all the digital collections administered by the UW-Green Bay Libraries.
• If you want to search using multiple search terms, use the Advanced Search instead of adding words like "and" or "or" in the search bar.
• If you want to search in a particular metadata field across the digital collection, use the Advanced Search, which allows users to search all fields or a specific field.

If you have any questions about searching the Green Bay Estuary Digital Archives Collection, contact archives@uwgb.edu.