ENG 344: African American Literature
Ask a Librarian
Beginning Your Search
To find sources for your assignments, you can either use Search@UW or one of our subject specific databases. You can find recommendations for databases below.
Search@UW - Search Books, Articles and More
When to use Search@UW
Use Search@UW when you want to:
- Find books and articles using one search;
- Do a broad, multidisciplinary search;
- Use a variety of information sources; or
- Want books or media owned by UW-Green Bay or other libraries.
If you want to do a focused search in a particular discipline, choose a database instead.
What is a Database?
A database is a collection of information.
Most often, in library terminology, this means an online collection of articles--scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, and newspaper articles.
Some databases are "multidisciplinary"--meaning they contain articles on a wide variety of topics. Other databases are more specialized and may focus on articles from a particular subject area such as business, history, or psychology.
Recommended Databases
-
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Find scholarly articles, books & book chapters, and editorial content.
-
Poetry & Short Story Reference Center (EBSCO)Subjects covered include poetry, creative writing, literature and language, and reference. Find poems, short stories, reference works, analyses, reviews, books, and book chapters.
-
Gale Literature (Gale)Subjects include literature, language, book reviews, criticism, and more. Find journal articles, book chapters, reviews, and reference works.
-
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include literature, literary criticism, and general humanities. Find reference works, monographs, classic books and anthologies, and literary journals.
-
Literature Criticism Online (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include literature, literary criticism, and general humanities. Find a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA wide range of subjects covered. Find academic journals, reviews, articles, and books & book chapters.
-
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA wide range of subjects covered; multidisciplinary database with significant full text. Find scholarly, trade, and popular titles.
-
Project Muse This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include humanities, arts, and social sciences. Find academic journal articles & books.
How to get full text articles
When you see a "Find full text" button, click it to access the full article. If the article isn’t immediately available, you'll be directed to a Search@UW record page. Sign in to your UW-Green Bay account and use the "Get it" button to request a digital copy through interlibrary loan.