Censorship & Banned Books
Ask a Librarian
Each of the tabs below list some of the most frequently cited reasons for challenging and banning books. It is very common for books to be challenged or banned for multiple reasons. Look at the tabs below to see a selection of popular and well-known books in the library's collection that fall under these categories. Otherwise, you can browse our online collection of banned titles in our collection we compiled.
The Hate U Give by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityBanned and challenged because it was deemed "anti-cop" and for profanity, drug use and sexual references.
Stamped from the Beginning by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityBanned because of claims that the book "contains selective storytelling incidents" and does not encompass racism against all people and because of the author's public statements.
This Book Is Anti-Racist by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityBanned in Texas because it could make someone feel discomfort, guilt, or anguish because of their race or sex.
Caste by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityBanned in Texas because it could cause "discomfort, guilt, anguish, or any other form of psychological distress because of race or sex."
How to Be an Antiracist by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged because "some stories are left out," "slanted" toward a particular view of race relations, and because it is too heavy for children.
New Kid by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged for promoting Critical Race Theory and racism.
An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States for Young People by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged in Texas because it might make students feel "discomfort, guilt, or anguish" about their race.
All American Boys by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityBanned and challenged for profanity, drug use, alcoholism, promoting anti-police views, containing divisive topics, and for being "too much of a sensitive matter right now."
All Boys Aren't Blue by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityBanned and challenged for LGBTQIA+ content, profanity, and because it was considered sexually explicit.
Am I Blue? by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged in Iowa for dealing with sexual identity.
And Tango Makes Three by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged for homosexual overtones unsuitable for young children and for having information about sexual orientation and gender identity.
Being Jazz by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged as pornographic and sexually explicit.
I Am Jazz by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged for LGBTQIA+ content, having a transgender character, confronting a topic that is "sensitive, controversial and politically charged," containing an offensive viewpoint, and being unsuited for its intended audience.
Pride: the Story of Harvey Milk and the Rainbow Flag by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityBanned in Florida, Idaho, Pennsylvania, Texas, and Wisconsin for the inclusion of "gender identity, sexuality, and ideological activist behavior."
A Quick and Easy Guide to They/Them Pronouns by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityBanned in Florida for LGBTQIA+ content.
This Day in June by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged and burned for including LGBTQIA+ content.
Two Boys Kissing by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged and burned for including LGBTQIA+ content.
Books in this section have been challenged and banned either for their political content or because they do not align with the challenger's personal political views.
1984 by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityISBN: 0881030368Challenged in Jackson County, Florida in 1981 for being pro-Communist and sexually explicit.
Animal Farm by Call Number: Click title to check availability1982 - Challenged at a school in Jackson County, FL, for being pro-Communist.
2002 - Banned from schools in the United Arab Emirates along with 125 others. The Ministry of Education banned it on the grounds that it contains written or illustrated material that contradicts Islamic and Arab values, such as pictures of alcoholic drinks, pigs, and other "indecent images."
Fahrenheit 451 by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged for offensive language, violence, "portrayal of Christians," and "depictions of firemen."
Burned in South Africa between the 1950s and 1970s.
The Jungle by Call Number: Click title to check availability1929 - Banned from public libraries in Yugoslavia.
1933 - Burned in the Nazi bonfires because of Sinclaire's socialist views.
1956 - Banned in East Germany as inimical to communism.
1985 - Banned in South Korea.
The Kite Runner by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged and banned because it includes sexual violence and was thought to "lead to terrorism" and "promote Islam."
Persepolis by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged for gambling, offensive language, political viewpoint, "graphic descriptions," and for being "politically, racially, and socially offensive."
Speak by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged from a political viewpoint, for being biased against male students, and for the inclusion of rape and profanity.
Books in this section have been challenged and banned either for their religious content or because they do not align with the challenger's personal religious views.
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityBanned and challenged for sexual references, profanity, violence, gambling, underage drinking, and from a religious viewpoint.- Animal Farm by Call Number: Click title to check availability1982 - Challenged at a school in Jackson County, FL, for being pro-Communist.
2002 - Banned from schools in the United Arab Emirates along with 125 others. The Ministry of Education banned it on the grounds that it contains written or illustrated material that contradicts Islamic and Arab values, such as pictures of alcoholic drinks, pigs, and other "indecent images." 
Bridge to Terabithia by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged for offensive language, violence, and for having content pertaining to the occult/Satanism.- Fahrenheit 451 by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged for offensive language, violence, "portrayal of Christians," and "depictions of firemen."
Burned in South Africa between the 1950s and 1970s. 
The Grapes of Wrath by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityBurned by East St. Louis, IL public library on the grounds that vulgar words were used (1939).
Banned in Ireland (1953).
Challenged at Cummings High School, NC, because the "book is full of filth...and takes the Lord's name in vain" (1986).
Challenged in Greenville, SC, schools because the book uses the name of God and Jesus in a "vain and profane manner" (1991).
Harry Potter (Series) by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged for containing violence and themes related to the occult/Satanism.
The Hunger Games by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged from a religious viewpoint and for being unsuited to its age group.
Tomboy by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged for being "below reading level" and "insulting to the Catholic faith."
Twilight by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged from a religious viewpoint and for violent content.
- 1984 by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityISBN: 0881030368Challenged in Jackson County, Florida in 1981 for being pro-Communist and sexually explicit.
- The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityBanned and challenged for sexual references, profanity, violence, gambling, underage drinking, and from a religious viewpoint.
The Color Purple by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged at a Junction City, OR high school in 1995 due to "inappropriate language, graphic sexual scenes, and the book's negative image of black men.
Removed from the Jackson County, WV school libraries in 1997 along with 16 other titles.
Challenged in Burke County, NC schools in 2008 by parents concerned about the homosexuality, rape, and incest portrayed in the book.
The Diary of a Young Girl by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityBanned for anatomical descriptions, sexual material, and homosexual themes.
The Great Gatsby by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged at the Baptist College at Charleston, South Carolina in 1987 because of "language and sexual references" in the book.
The Handmaid's Tale by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityBanned and challenged for profanity and for "vulgarity and sexual overtones."- The Kite Runner by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged and banned because it includes sexual violence and was thought to "lead to terrorism" and "promote Islam."
My Sister's Keeper by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged from a religious viewpoint, for homosexuality, offensive language, sexism, violence, and for being sexually explicit and unsuited to its intended age group.- Speak by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged from a political viewpoint, for being biased against male students, and for the inclusion of rape and profanity.
To Kill a Mockingbird by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged for containing racial epithets and adult themes like sex, rape, and incest.
- The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityBanned and challenged for sexual references, profanity, violence, gambling, underage drinking, and from a religious viewpoint.
The Outsiders by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityChallenged for its portrayal of gang violence, underage smoking and drinking, use of obscenities and slang, and because it features broken homes and family dysfunction.
Thirteen Reasons Why by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityBanned, challenged, and restricted for addressing teen suicide.
