Censorship & Banned Books
Ask a Librarian
Banned Books Week
Banned Books Week is an annual event celebrating the freedom to read. It unites librarians, educators, readers, booksellers, publishers, and journalists with their shared support of the freedom to seek, publish, read, and express ideas, even those that are unpopular or unorthodox.
Banned Books Week is October 5-11, 2025. Stay tuned for library programming to celebrate!
How to Celebrate Banned Books Week
- Read a banned book!
- Attend a Banned Books Week program
- Write a letter to your favorite banned or challenged author
- Spread awareness about banned and challenged books using #bannedbooksweek
- Stay informed -- If you hear of a challenge at your local library contact the ALA Office of Intellectual Freedom to report it
Reporting Censorship
One of the best ways you can help in the fight against censorship is to report it when you see it. If you become aware of an instance of censorship in your local school, library, or community, report it to one of the organizations below. You do not have to be a student, educator, or librarian to report censorship -- anyone can do it!
- ALA Censorship ReportingThe ALA Office for Intellectual Freedom (OIF) maintains a database on challenged materials, and can provide censorship support & resources.
- PEN AmericaPEN America is committed to pushing back against book bans and the intolerance, exclusion, and censorship that undergird it. Reporting cases of censorship in your community is integral to bringing awareness to these issues on a local and national level.
- National Coalition Against CensorshipSubmit a case with the National Coalition Against Censorship.
- Foundation for Individual Rights and Expression (FIRE)FIRE is the nation's leading defender of fundamental rights on college campuses through a unique mix of programming, including student and faculty outreach, public education campaigns, individual case advocacy, and policy reform efforts. Concerned that your right to freedom of expression may be at risk? Contact FIRE confidentially to submit a case.
- Comic Book Legal Defense FundThe Comic Book Legal Defense Fund is an American non-profit organization formed in 1986 to protect the First Amendment rights of comics creators, publishers, and retailers covering legal expenses.
- National Council of Teachers of EnglishNCTE offers advice, helpful documents, and other support to teachers faced with challenges to texts (e.g. literary works, films and videos, drama productions), to student writing, or to teaching methods used in their classrooms and schools. They welcome reports from anyone who is aware of current censorship incidents in schools and school libraries.
Resources & Organizations
- ALA Office of Intellectual Freedom (ALA-OIF)The ALA Office of Intellectual Freedom aims to educate librarians and the general public about the nature and importance of intellectual freedom in libraries. It supports anyone addressing a challenge to materials, programming, policies, or services and promotes public awareness through Banned Books Week, Unite Against Book Bans, and by collecting and distributing censorship statistics.
- Comic Book Legal Defense Fund (CBLDF)The Comic Book Legal Defense Fund (CBLDF) documents challenges and bans to comic books, graphic novels, and manga and supports educators, librarians, publishers, retailers, and readers who face challenges to their First Amendment Right to read these formats.
- Freedom to Read FoundationAn affiliate of the American Library Association, the Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) protects and defends the First Amendment of the Constitution by supporting the right of libraries to collect, and individuals to access, information.
- National Coalition Against Censorship (NCAC)For nearly 50 years, the NCAC has acted as a first responder to protect freedom of expression, promote freedom of thought and inquiry, and oppose censorship. It serves students, teachers, librarians, parents, and others opposing censorship, including artists, curators, museums, writers, publishers, activists, protestors, dramatists, and filmmakers.
- PEN AmericaFounded in 1922, PEN America champions the freedom to write. The organization collects data on book bans and censorship and provides information about topics such as censorship in education, free speech on campus, and disinformation, among others.
- Unite Against Book BansUnite Against Book Bans is a national initiative by the American Library Association to empower readers in the fight against censorship by providing tools for anyone to take action against the threat of book bans and challenges in their communities.
- Campus Free Speech GuideCompiled by Pen America, the Campus Free Speech Guide is a valuable resource for students, faculty, and staff, providing practical guidance for how colleges and universities can remain open to all voices. Browse the "Resource Library" tab for advice on specific issues.
- FIRE's Spotlight DatabaseThe Foundation for Individual Rights and Expression (FIRE) compiles information about over 480 colleges and universities and rates their policies that regulate student expression. School are annually rated as "green light," "yellow light," or "red light" institutions based on the extent they restrict speech.
- Guides to Student Rights on CampusThe Foundation for Individual Rights and Expression (FIRE) provides free guides to help college and university students understand their rights on campus. Topics of the guides include free speech on campus, due process and campus justice, and religious liberty on campus.
- How to Fight Book Bans: A Tip Sheet for StudentsThis tip sheet from PEN America provides students with practical ways they can get involved to fight back against book bans and protect the First Amendment right to freedom of expression.
- Youth Free Expression ProgramThe Youth Free Expression Program is an initiative of the National Coalition Against Censorship (NCAC). It empowers youth to defend their right to free expression by providing resources and tools for young advocates.
- The First Amendment in Schools: A Resource GuideThis guide from the National Coalition Against Censorship (NCAC) is a collection of resources for educators and school officials about the First Amendment and censorship in public schools.
- The Free Expression Educator's HandbookFrom the National Coalition Against Censorship (NCAC), this handbook is intended for teachers, librarians, and school administrators facing book challenges and censorship controversies, offering practical guidance and advice.
- The National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE)The NCTE supports intellectual freedom at all educational levels, offering support, advice, and resources to teachers and schools faced with challenges to teaching materials or methods.
- Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC)From the School of Education at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, the CCBC provides a list of resources for educators and librarians facing challenges to curriculum materials. Although aimed at educators, a list of resources for community members and relevant articles, interviews, and news about the topic would be of interest to the general public.
- American Library Association (ALA)Since 1876, the ALA has provided professional support to librarians in the United States. Under the "Advocacy, Legislation, & Issues" tab, select "Banned & Challenged Books" or "Intellectual Freedom" for more information on these topics and to learn about what the ALA is doing to support librarians.
- Graphic Novels: Suggestions for LibrariansThe Comic Book Legal Defense Fund (CBLDF) provides guidance for librarians who manage comic book, graphic novel, and manga collections and advice for how to deal with challenges to these materials.
- A Tip Sheet for Librarians Facing HarassmentFrom PEN America, this tip sheet offers suggestions for librarians dealing with book challenges and bans as well as advice on how to handle potential harassment and threats in relation to attempts to censor materials.