Census Information
Ask a Librarian
Historical Census Questions
Find out which questions were covered in a given census and how they were worded.
-
Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses from 1790 to 2000
by
Call Number: Online Access or Click title to check print availabilityPublication Date: 2002Copies of each census form, directions to enumerators, and summaries of the changes from census to census. Helps you determine whether the topic you need was even asked in a way useful to you.
-
Decennial Census Questionnaires & Instructions - U.S. Census BureauSelect the decade you are interested in. Look for the download link for a PDF of the questionnaire or scroll all the way to the bottom for a plain text list of the questions asked. 1790-2020
Historical Census Publications
-
Bureau of the Census Catalog of Publications, 1790-1972 byCall Number: Online Access or Click title to check print availabilityPublication Date: 1974Comprehensive guide that describes all published census titles plus describes materials originally planned for publication that were never done.
-
Decennial Census Official PublicationsReports and other official publications about collected census data, including digitized versions of historical print volumes.
Books: Historical Population Information
-
The American Census Handbook
by
Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2002A "general guide to the thousands of published census indexes currently available in print and online [...] Arranged chronologically by year, geographically, and by general topics (this section includes indexes that focus on ethnic groups as well as indexes to current and former military personnel and their families), The American Census Handbook includes information on federal, state, county and town census records." -
Population Information in Nineteenth Century Census Volumes
by
Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 1983A guide to the U.S. Census Bureau's 1790-1890 decennial census volumes. -
Population Information in Twentieth Century Census Volumes, 1900-1940
by
Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 1985A guide to the U.S. Census Bureau's 1900-1940 decennial census volumes. -
Population Information in Twentieth Century Census Volumes, 1950-1980
by
Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 1988A guide to the U.S. Census Bureau's 1950-1980 decennial census volumes. -
Statistical Abstracts of the United StatesCall Number: Online Access or Click title to check print availabilityPublication Date: Biennial, 1878-2012Statistical reference and guide to over 250 statistical publications and sources from government and private organizations. Ceased publication 2012.
