Skip to Main Content

Finding & Using Images, Audio, and Video

Ask a Librarian

Chat

Chat loading...

Email

refdesk@uwgb.edu

Appointment

Book a consultation

Attribution Statement or Full Citation?

It's always appropriate to give credit to the creator of any image, audio or video that you use. Often, a simple attribution statement will be sufficient, but sometimes a full citation in a formal citation style such as APA, MLA, or Chicago is preferred.

Attribution statements are commonly used in presentations, or on websites. If you are discussing the media within a paper or publication, a full citation may be needed. If you are unsure which type of credit you should use, consult with your professor.

Attribution Statement

Including images in your project is a great way to add interest and convey ideas. it’s important to give credit to the creators by including an attribution statement.

Sites like Creative Commons and Wikimedia Commons make attributions easy since they clearly state where an image comes from and what you’re allowed to do with it.

An attribution statement should generally include:

  1. Title: if there is one; you can also link it to the source
  2. Author: the name of the person or group who created it
  3. Source: usually a direct link to where you found it
  4. License: If there is a Creative Commons license, list the type and include a link to it

Here's an example:

Interior view a library wtih arched ceilings and tall wooden bookshelves
“The Long Room of the Old Library at Trinity College Dublin” by David Iliff is licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0.

APA Style

Here are some examples of how to cite different types of media in APA Style.

Image (Found Online)
Surname, A. A. (Date of creation). Title of photo/image [Type of image]. Name of Site. URL
Adams, A. E. (1941). In Glacier National Park [Photograph]. National Archives. https://www.archives.gov/research/ansel-adams/images/aae02.jpg
Image (Missing Information)

If there's no author, start the citation with the title of the media.

If there's no date, use (n.d.) to show that no date is available.

If there's no title, include a brief description of the content and format in brackets.

Surname, A. A. (Date of publication). Title of photo/image [Type of image]. Name of Site. URL
Biology lab with Alice Goldsby [Photograph]. (ca. 1970-1975). UW Digital Collections. https://search.library.wisc.edu/digital/A77LQT3ASPXAKY8T
[Untitled photograph of woman in laboratory]. (n.d.). Louisiana Digital Library. http://www.louisianadigitallibrary.com/cdm/ref/ collection/p16313coll28/id/232
Audio Recording
Artist, A. A. (Date of recording). Title of song [Song (additional creator details if relevant)]. On Title of album [Album]. Label. (Date of original work if different from recording date)
Beethoven, L. van. (2012). Symphony No. 3 in E-flat major [Song recorded by Staatskapelle Dresden]. On Beethoven: Complete symphonies [Album]. Brilliant Classics. (Original work published 1804)
Beyonce. (2016). Formation [Song]. On Lemonade [Album]. Parkwood; Columbia.
Video Clip
Creator/Poster, A. A. (Date). Title of video [Video]. Name of Hosting Site. URL
University of Oxford. (2018, December 6). How do geckos walk on water? [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qm1xGfOZJc8
Palmer, A. (2013, February). Amanda Palmer: The art of asking [Video]. TED Conferences. https://www.ted.com/talks/amanda_palmer_the_art_of_asking

MLA Style

Here are some examples of how to cite different types of media in MLA Style.

Image (Found Online)
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Photo/Image." Name of Collection/Archive/Webpage, Publisher of Website, Date, URL. Date of access.
Adams, Ansel. "In Glacier National Park." Ansel Adams Photographs, National Archives, 1941, https://www.archives.gov/research/ansel-adams/images/aae02.jpg. Accessed 22 May 2024.
Image (Missing Information)

If there's no author, move the title to the beginning of citation.

If there's no title, briefly describe the subject without quotation marks.

Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Photo/Image." Name of Collection/Archive/Webpage, Publisher of Website, Date, URL. Date of access.
"Biology lab with Alice Goldsby." History of UW-Green Bay, University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries, 1970-1975?, https://search.library.wisc.edu/digital/A77LQT3ASPXAKY8T. Accessed 22 May 2024.
Photograph of woman in laboratory. Louisiana Digital Library, Loyola University, New Orleans, http://www.louisianadigitallibrary.com/cdm/ref/ collection/p16313coll28/id/232. Accessed 22 May 2024.
Audio Recording
Lastname, Artist. "Title of Song." Title of Album, Other contributors (if important), Label, Date, URL.
John, Elton. "Someone Saved my Life Tonight." Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy, written by Bernie Taupin, Big Pig Music Limited, 1975, https://open.spotify.com/album/4UcpKa4yD9AA3iEHI8MFSF.
Video Clip
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Video." Title of Website, uploaded by Name (if different from Creator), Publisher (if different from Website), Date, URL.
Palmer, Amanda. "Amanda Palmer: The Art of Asking." TED: Ideas Worth Spreading, Feb. 2013, https://www.ted.com/talks/amanda_palmer_the_art_of_asking

Chicago Style

Here are some examples of how to cite different types of multimedia in Chicago Style.

Image (Found Online)
Note:

1. Author A. Surname, Image Title, Date of creation, Type of image, Title of Website, URL.

2. Surname, "Shortened Image Title," Page or location (if available).

1. Ansel Adams, In Glacier National Park, 1941, Photograph, National Archives, https://www.archives.gov/research/ansel-adams/images/aae02.jpg.

2. Adams, In Glacier National Park.

Bibliography:
Surname, Author A. Image Title. Date of creation. Type of image. Title of Website, URL.
Adams, Ansel. In Glacier National Park. 1941. Photograph. National Archives, https://www.archives.gov/research/ansel-adams/images/aae02.jpg.
Image (Missing Information)

If there's no author, move the title of the media to the beginning of citation.

If there's no date, use (n.d.).

If there's no title, briefly describe the type and subject of work in brackets.

Note:

1. Author A. Surname, Image Title, Date of creation, Type of image, Title of Website, URL.

2. Surname, "Shortened Image Title," Page or location (if available).

1. Biology Lab with Alice Goldsby, [1970-1975?], Photograph, History of UW-Green Bay, https://search.library.wisc.edu/digital/A77LQT3ASPXAKY8T.

2. Biology Lab.

3. [Untitled photograph of woman in laboratory], n.d., Photograph, Louisiana Digital Library, http://www.louisianadigitallibrary.com/cdm/ref/ collection/p16313coll28/id/232.

4. [Woman in laboratory].

Bibliography:
Surname, Author A. Image Title. Date of creation. Type of image. Title of Website, URL.
Biology Lab with Alice Goldsby. [1970-1975?]. Photograph. History of UW-Green Bay, https://search.library.wisc.edu/digital/A77LQT3ASPXAKY8T.
[Untitled photograph of woman in laboratory]. n.d. Photograph. Louisiana Digital Library, http://www.louisianadigitallibrary.com/cdm/ref/ collection/p16313coll28/id/232.
Audio Recording
Note:

1. Author A. Surname, role (if applicable), "Title of Song," Other Contributors (if applicable), Format, track # on Title of Album, Label, Date, URL.

2. Surname, "Shortened Song Title," track or time (if applicable).

1. Elton John, "Someone Saved My Life Tonight," written by Bernie Taupin, Spotify, track 5 on Captain Fantastic and the Brown dirt Cowboy, Big Pig Music LImited, 1975, https://open.spotify.com/album/4UcpKa4yD9AA3iEHI8MFSF.

2. John, "Someone Saved My Life."

Bibliography:
Surname, Author A. "Title of Song." Other Contributors (if applicable). On Title of Album. Label, Year, Format. URL.
John, Elton. "Someone Saved My Life Tonight." Written by Bernie Taupin. On Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy. Big Pig Music Limited, 1975, Spotify. https://open.spotify.com/album/4UcpKa4yD9AA3iEHI8MFSF.
Video Clip
Note:

1. Author A. Surname, "Title of Video," Date, format, Time. URL.

2. Surname, "Shortened Video Title," Time stamp (if applicable).

1. Amanda Palmer, “Amanda Palmer: The Art of Asking,” filmed February 2013, TED video, 13:41. https://www.ted.com/talks/amanda_palmer_the_art_of_asking.

2. Palmer, "Art of Asking."

Bibliography:
Surname, Author A. "Video Title." Filmed Date in Place (if applicable). Format, time. URL.
Palmer, Amanda. "Amanda Palmer: The Art of Asking.” Filmed February 2013. TED video, 13:41. https://www.ted.com/talks/amanda_palmer_the_art_of_asking.

Credit

Guide content based on the Finding and Using Media guide from the J. Edgar & Louise S. Monroe Library, Loyola University & the Copyright & Creative Commons, Free Images and Music guide from the Brisbane Grammar School Libraries.