Example Chicago Citations (Notes and Bibliography Style)
The Chicago notes and bibliography system uses numbered footnotes or endnotes with a separate bibliography that lists all sources alphabetically. These examples of commonly cited types of sources include a full citation followed by a shortened citation to be used in subsequent references.
Journal Article
Note:
1. Author A. Surname, "Article Title," Title of Journal Volume, no. Issue (Year): Page(s), DOI [or stable URL].
2. Surname, "Shortened Article Title," page(s).
1. Margaret Lock, “Comprehending the Body in the Era of the Epigenome,” Current Anthropology 56, no. 2 (2015): 155, https://doi.org/10.1086/680350.
2. Lock, "Comprehending the Body," 163.
Bibliography:
Book
Note:
1. Author A. Surname, Title of Book (Publisher, Year), page(s).
2. Surname, Shortened Title, page(s).
1. Atul Gawande, Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End (Profile Books, 2014), 79-80.
2. Gawande, Being Mortal, 191.
Bibliography:
Book Chapter
Note:
1. Author A. Surname, "Title of Chapter," in Title of Book, ed. Editor E. Surname (Publisher, Year), page(s).
2. Surname, "Shortened Chapter Title," page(s).
1. Ruth A. Miller, "Posthuman," in Critical Terms for the Study of Gender, ed. Catharine R. Stimpson and Gilbert Herdt (University of Chicago Press, 2014), 325
2. Miller, "Posthuman," 327.
Bibliography:
Webpage
Note:
- "Webpage Title," Publishing Organization or Name of Website, Date page last modified or date page was accessed, URL.
- "Webpage Title."
- "Wikipedia: Manual of Style," Wikimedia Foundation, last modified December 19, 2023, 21:54 (UTC), https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/wikipedia:manual_of_style.
- "Wikipedia: Manual of Style."
Bibliography:
Wikimedia Foundation. "Wikipedia: Manual of Style.” Last modified December 19, 2023, at 21:54 (UTC). https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/wikipedia:manual_of_style.
Citation examples adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 18th ed. and the Chicago Manual of Style Online.
Chicago Citation Resources
- Librarian recommended! NoodleTools
Walks you through the process of formatting citations and reference lists. Sign in with your UWGB credentials. Access is limited to current UW-Green Bay students, faculty, and staff. - Librarian recommended! Notes and Bibliography Sample Citations: Chicago Manual of Style OnlineThe Chicago Manual of Style Online offers examples of notes and bibliography entries for many common formats.
- Chicago Style: Excelsior College Online Writing LabGives detailed information on formatting of Chicago style papers, footnotes/endnotes, and bibliography citations. Use the side menu to navigate to the information you need.
For a complete list of specifics about Chicago style for both the reference list and in-text citations, see The Chicago Manual of Style, 18th edition. Use the links above for examples, tips, and further help.
The Chicago Manual of Style, 18th EditionCall Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2024
Always follow any modifications to Chicago Style provided by your instructor.
Citing Sources in Text (Notes and Bibliography)
- Notes indicate you are quoting, summarizing, or paraphrasing someone else's work or ideas.
- When you cite a source, add a superscript number at the end of your sentence. This corresponds to a note with the same number at the bottom of the page (footnote style) or at the end of the paper (endnote style).
- If you cite the same source more than once, use a shortened version of the note after the first time (see examples above).
- Sources cited in a note should also be listed in your bibliography, in alphabetical order, using bibliography format (see examples above).
Notes (In-Text Citation) Resources
- Resources for History and Humanities Students: Using FootnotesFrom Professor David Voelker
- Formatting NotesThe Writing Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Scroll down for numerous examples.