SOC WORK 461/463: Applied Research
Ask a Librarian
Library Databases
Try Search@UW and one or more of the following databases while working on your review.
-
PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include psychology and all specialties. Also covers psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations.
-
Social Work Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include social work and human services. Find scholarly journals, book chapters, and editorial content.
-
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Find scholarly and trade journals, articles, and citations to dissertations and book reviews.
-
Encyclopedia of Social Work This link opens in a new windowContinuously updated online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers (NASW Press) and Oxford University Press (OUP).
Database Search Tips
- Search for an exact phrase using quotation marks
- Example: "gender identity"
- Search for related terms using OR. Results will have one or more of the terms.
- Example: transgender OR nonbinary
- Use parentheses to group or nest terms together
- Example: (transgender OR "gender identity") AND "conversion therapy"
How to get full text articles
When you see a "Find full text" button, click it to access the full article. If the article isn’t immediately available, you'll be directed to a Search@UW record page. Sign in to your UW-Green Bay account and use the "Get it" button to request a digital copy through interlibrary loan.
Finding Related Articles with Google Scholar
When you find an article that's particularly useful or relevant, check its references and look up what other articles have cited it. Google Scholar can help you find what articles have cited a particular title.
The guide listed below will show you how to connect Google Scholar results with UW-Green Bay Library resources.