First Nations Studies
Ask a Librarian
Art
Websites
- The National Museum of the American Indian: Infinity of NationsThe National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI) houses one of the world’s great cultural resources, with collections representing the Native peoples of the Americas from their earliest history to the present day. Infinity of Nations presents more than two hundred of these works chosen from nearly seven hundred objects of cultural, historical, and aesthetic importance on view at the museum’s George Gustav Heye Center in New York.
- The Smithsonian Institution: Native American and Indigenous History and CultureThe Smithsonian holds thousands of museum collections, archives, books, and more related to the history of Native Americans and Indigenous communities of the world. Browse their digitized collections.
American Indian Art MagazineCall Number: Click title to check availabilityMagazine ran from 1975-2015
"Coverage of contemporary Native American artwork as well as cultural histories of Native American objects and ephemera are found in American Indian Art Magazine. This serial is beautifully illustrated and filled with color advertisements for high art, pottery, jewelry, and crafts." (Sellie, 2010)
Print Books
Art for an Undivided Earth: The American Indian Movement Generation by
In Art for an Undivided Earth Jessica L. Horton reveals how the spatial philosophies underlying the American Indian Movement (AIM) were refigured by a generation of artists searching for new places to stand. Upending the assumption that Jimmie Durham, James Luna, Kay WalkingStick, Robert Houle, and others were primarily concerned with identity politics, she joins them in remapping the coordinates of a widely shared yet deeply contested modernity that is defined in great part by the colonization of the Americas. She follows their installations, performances, and paintings across the ocean and back in time, as they retrace the paths of Native diplomats, scholars, performers, and objects in Europe after 1492. Along the way, Horton intervenes in a range of theories about global modernisms, Native American sovereignty, racial difference, archival logic, artistic itinerancy, and new materialisms. Writing in creative dialogue with contemporary artists, she builds a picture of a spatially, temporally, and materially interconnected world--an undivided earth.
Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2017
Changing Hands: Art Without Reservation by
The first in a landmark series of three titles that assembles, documents, interprets and explores the rich diversity of craft, art and design being produced today by contemporary Native American artists. This first volume, on Native American art from the Southwest, includes works in a wide variety of media by approximately 90 artists.
Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2003
Floral Journey: Native North American Beadwork by
Floral Journey: Native North American Beadwork is the compelling story of why Native floral beadwork became both a major means of artistic expression and a symbol of cultural resilience. It is also an important example of how two differing cultures ? Native and European ? established a common ground of economic and creative exchange.
Call Number: Click title for availabilityPublication Date: 2014
Native North American Art by
This lively introductory survey of indigenous North American arts from ancient times to the present explores both the shared themes and imagery found across the continent and the distinctive traditions of each region. Focusing on the richness of artwork created in the US and Canada, NativeNorth American Art, Second Edition, discusses 3,000 years of architecture, wood and rock carvings, basketry, dance masks, clothing and more. The expanded text discusses twentieth- and twenty-first-century arts in all media including works by James Luna, Kent Monkman, Nadia Myre, Jaune Quick-to-See Smith, Will Wilson, and many more. Authors Berlo and Phillips incorporate new research and scholarship, examining such issues as art andethics, gender, representation, and the colonial encounter. By bringing into one conversation the seemingly separate realms of the sacred and the secular, the political and the domestic, and the ceremonial and the commercial, Native North American Art shows how visual arts not only maintain theintegrity of spiritual and social systems within Native North American societies, but have long been part of a cross-cultural experience as well.
Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2015
Shapeshifting: Transformations in Native American Art by
Public perception of Native American art and culture has often been derived from misunderstandings and misinterpretations, and from images promulgated by popular culture. Typically, Native Americans are grouped as a whole and their art and culture considered part of the past rather than widely present. Shapeshifting challenges these assumptions by focusing on the objects as art rather than cultural or anthropological artifacts and on the multivalent creativity of Native American artists. The approach highlights the inventive contemporaneity that existed in all periods and continues today. More than 75 works in a wide range of media and scale are organized into four thematic groups: changing--expanding the imagination; knowing--expressing worldview; locating--exploring identity and place; and voicing--engaging the individual. The result is a paradigm shift in understanding Native American art.
Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2012
Women and Ledger Art: Four Contemporary Native American Artists by
Ledger art has traditionally been created by men to recount the lives of male warriors on the Plains. During the past forty years, this form has been adopted by Native female artists, who are turning previously untold stories of women's lifestyles and achievements into ledger-style pictures. While there has been a resurgence of interest in ledger art, little has been written about these women ledger artists. Women and Ledger Art calls attention to the extraordinary achievements of these strong women who have chosen to express themselves through ledger art. Author Richard Pearce foregrounds these contributions by focusing on four contemporary women ledger artists: Sharron Ahtone Harjo (Kiowa), Colleen Cutschall (Oglala Lakota), Linda Haukaas (Sicangu Lakota), and Dolores Purdy Corcoran (Caddo). Pearce spent six years in continual communication with the women, learning about their work and their lives. Women and Ledger Art examines the artists and explains how they expanded Plains Indian history. With 46 stunning images of works in various mediums--from traditional forms on recovered ledger pages to simulated quillwork and sculpture, Women and Ledger Art reflects the new life these women have brought to an important transcultural form of expression.
Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2013
Horace Poolaw, Photographer of American Indian Modernity by
Laura E. Smith unravels the compelling life story of Kiowa photographer Horace Poolaw (1906-84), one of the first professional Native American photographers. Born on the Kiowa reservation in Anadarko, Oklahoma, Poolaw bought his first camera at the age of fifteen and began taking photos of family, friends, and noted leaders in the Kiowa community, also capturing successive years of powwows and pageants at various fairs, expositions, and other events. Though Poolaw earned some income as a professional photographer, he farmed, raised livestock, and took other jobs to help fund his passion for documenting his community. Smith examines the cultural and artistic significance of Poolaw's life in professional photography from 1925 to 1945 in light of European and modernist discourses on photography, portraiture, the function of art, Native American identity, and American Indian religious and political activism. Rather than through the lens of Native peoples' inevitable extinction or within a discourse of artistic modernism, Smith evaluates Poolaw's photography within art history and Native American history, simultaneously questioning the category of "fine artist" in relation to the creative lives of Native peoples. A tour de force of art and cultural history, Horace Poolaw, Photographer of American Indian Modernity illuminates the life of one of Native America's most gifted, organic artists and documentarians and challenges readers to reevaluate the seamlessness between the creative arts and everyday life through its depiction of one man's lifelong dedication to art and community.
Call Number: Online Access or Click title to check print availabilityPublication Date: 2016
Native American Performance and Representation by
Native performance is a multifaceted and changing art form as well as a swiftly growing field of research. "Native American Performance and Representation" provides a wider and more comprehensive study of Native performance, not only its past but also its present and future. Contributors use multiple perspectives to look at the varying nature of Native performance strategies. They consider the combination and balance of the traditional and modern techniques of performers in a multicultural world. This collection presents diverse viewpoints from both scholars and performers in this field, both Natives and non-Natives. Important and well-respected researchers and performers such as Bruce McConachie, Jorge Huerta, and Daystar/Rosalie Jones offer much-needed insight into this quickly expanding field of study. This volume examines Native performance using a variety of lenses, such as feminism, literary and film theory, and postcolonial discourse. Through the many unique voices of the contributors, major themes are explored, such as indigenous self-representations in performance, representations by nonindigenous people, cultural authenticity in performance and representation, and cross-fertilization between cultures. Authors introduce important, though sometimes controversial, issues as they consider the effects of miscegenation on traditional customs, racial discrimination, Native women s position in a multicultural society, and the relationship between authenticity and hybridity in Native performance. An important addition to the new and growing field of Native performance, Wilmer s book cuts across disciplines and areas of study in a way no other book in the field does. It will appeal not only to those interested in Native American studies but also to those concerned with women s and gender studies, literary and film studies, and cultural studies."
Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2011
Dance
- Native American DancesNative Spirit Productions
- Indigenous Contemporary Dance CreationsDancing Earth
- The World of American Indian DanceFilmed at Crow Fair in Montana, the program was produced by the Oneida Indian Nation and aired on broadcast television. A general history of Native American issues is included. (46 minutes)
Specialty Dance
- Hoop DanceA specialty dance, Hoop Dancing, at the 2017 Gathering of Nations Pow Wow.
Men's Dances
- Northern Traditional DanceA Northern Traditional dance for men from the 2018 Gathering of Nations Pow Wow.
- Fancy DanceA Fancy dance for men from the 2017 Gathering of Nations Pow Wow.
- Grass DanceA typical dance for men from the 2015 Gathering of Nations Pow Wow. Grass dance begins at
0:38 mark.
Women's Dances
- Fancy Shawl DanceA Fancy Shawl Dance for women from the 2018 Gathering of Nations Pow Wow. Fancy Shawl dance begins at the 0:54 mark.
- Jingle Dress DanceA Native American Womens' Dance. This video is from the 2016 Gathering of Nations Pow Wow, featuring a jingle special.
- Traditional DanceA Women's Traditional dance from the 2017 Gathering of Nations Pow Wow.
The People Have Never Stopped Dancing: Native American Modern Dance Histories by
During the past thirty years, Native American dance has emerged as a visible force on concert stages throughout North America. In this first major study of contemporary Native American dance, Jacqueline Shea Murphy shows how these performances are at once diverse and connected by common influences. Demonstrating the complex relationship between Native and modern dance choreography, Shea Murphy delves first into U.S. and Canadian federal policies toward Native performance from the late nineteenth through the early twentieth centuries, revealing the ways in which government sought to curtail authentic ceremonial dancing while actually encouraging staged spectacles, such as those in Buffalo Bill's Wild West shows. She then engages the innovative work of Ted Shawn, Lester Horton, and Martha Graham, highlighting the influence of Native American dance on modern dance in the twentieth century. Shea Murphy moves on to discuss contemporary concert dance initiatives, including Canada's Aboriginal Dance Program and the American Indian Dance Theatre. Illustrating how Native dance enacts, rather than represents, cultural connections to land, ancestors, and animals, as well as spiritual and political concerns, Shea Murphy challenges stereotypes about American Indian dance and offers new ways of recognizing the agency of bodies on stage. Jacqueline Shea Murphy is associate professor of dance studies at the University of California, Riverside, and coeditor of Bodies of the Text: Dance as Theory, Literature as Dance.
Call Number: Online Access or Click title to check print availabilityPublication Date: 2007
Indigenous Dance and Dancing Indian: Contested Representation in the Global Era by Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2011
We Have a Religion: The 1920s Pueblo Indian Dance Controversy and American Religious Freedom by
For Native Americans, religious freedom has been an elusive goal. From nineteenth-century bans on indigenous ceremonial practices to twenty-first-century legal battles over sacred lands, peyote use, and hunting practices, the U.S. government has often acted as if Indian traditions were somehow not truly religious and therefore not eligible for the constitutional protections of the First Amendment. In this book, Tisa Wenger shows that cultural notions about what constitutes "religion" are crucial to public debates over religious freedom. In the 1920s, Pueblo Indian leaders in New Mexico and a sympathetic coalition of non-Indian reformers successfully challenged government and missionary attempts to suppress Indian dances by convincing a skeptical public that these ceremonies counted as religion. This struggle for religious freedom forced the Pueblos to employ Euro-American notions of religion, a conceptual shift with complex consequences within Pueblo life. Long after the dance controversy, Wenger demonstrates, dominant concepts of religion and religious freedom have continued to marginalize indigenous traditions within the United States.
Call Number: Online Access or Click title to check print availabilityPublication Date: 2009
Film
- RNCI Red Nation International Film FestivalRed Nation International Film Festival & Awards is an American Indian & Indigenous film festival that takes place every year as part of the City of Los Angeles Celebration of Native American Heritage Month.
- Vision Maker MediaVision Maker Media exists to serve Native producers and Indian country in partnership with public television and radio. Vision Maker Media works with Native producers to develop, produce and distribute educational telecommunications programs for all media including public television and public radio.
Note:
Click on the title to check availability to see if it is available at a UW-Green Bay Library. If not available, you can request the item. For more information on placing a request, see this page.
The Cherokee Word for WaterCall Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2013The Cherokee Word for Water is a feature-length motion picture that tells the story of the work that led Wilma Mankiller to become the first modern female Chief of the Cherokee Nation.
For more information on this film, see film website.
More than a wordPublication Date: 2017More Than A Word analyzes the Washington football team and their use of the derogatory term R*dskins. Using interviews from both those in favor of changing the name and those against, More Than A Word presents a deeper analysis of the many issues surrounding the Washington team name. The documentary also examines the history of Native American cultural appropriation.
For more information about this film, see film website.
- Reel Injun: On the Trial of the Hollywood IndianCall Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2010An entertaining and provocative look at Hollywood's depiction of Native Americans, Reel Injun journeys through a century of cinema to set the record straight.
For more information about this film and to view clips, visit film website.
- Rumble: the Indians who rocked the worldCall Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2017This revelatory documentary brings to light the profound and overlooked influence of Indigenous people on popular music in North America. This film shows how these pioneering Native American musicians helped shape the soundtracks of our lives.
For more information about the film see, film website.
- The Seventh Fire: A Native American Gang Leader Confronts His Violent Past (2016)When gang leader Rob Brown is sentenced to prison for a fifth time, he must confront his role in bringing violent drug culture into his beloved American Indian community in northern Minnesota. As Rob reckons with his past, his seventeen-year-old protégé, Kevin, dreams of the future: becoming the most powerful and feared Native gangster on the reservation. DVD is not available through UW-Libraries. Ask-A-Librarian for help in placing an inter-library loan request to view.
- Young LakotaCall Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2013The Pine Ridge Reservation is no stranger to strife and heartbreak, stark realities and inspired idealism. In Young Lakota, we are brought directly into the emotional and often uncertain journey of Sunny Clifford, her twin sister Serena, and their politically ambitious friend Brandon Ferguson, who all share the compelling desire to make a difference for themselves and their community.
Hollywood's Indian: The Portrayal of the Native American in Film by Call Number: Online Access or Click title to check print availabilityPublication Date: 1998In this collection of essays, seventeen scholars explore the changing depictions of Hollywood's Indian and how those representations have reflected larger changes in American society.
Imagic Moments: Indigenous North American Film by Call Number: Online Access or Click title to check print availabilityPublication Date: 2013In Indigenous North American film Native Americans tell their own stories and thereby challenge a range of political and historical contradictions, including egregious misrepresentations by Hollywood.
Killing the Indian Maiden: Images of Native American Women in Film by Call Number: Online Access or Click title to check print availabilityPublication Date: 2006Killing the Indian Maiden examines the fascinating and often disturbing portrayal of Native American women in film.
Native Americans on Film: Conversations, Teaching, and Theory by Call Number: Online Access or Click title to check print availabilityPublication Date: 2013Native Americans on Film draws inspiration from the Indigenous film movement, bringing filmmakers into an intertextual conversation with academics from a variety of disciplines.
Reservation Reelism: Redfacing, Visual Sovereignty, and Representations of Native Americans in Film by Call Number: Online Access or Click title to check print availabilityPublication Date: 2010In this deeply engaging account Michelle H. Raheja offers the first book-length study of the Indigenous actors, directors, and spectators who helped shape Hollywood’s representation of Indigenous peoples.
Wiping the War Paint off the Lens: Native American Film and Video by Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2001Wiping the War Paint off the Lens traces the history of Native experiences as subjects, actors, and creators, and develops a critical framework for approaching Native work. Singer positions Native media as part of a larger struggle for cultural sovereignty-the right to maintain and protect cultures and traditions.
Literature & Storytelling
- Anton Treuer (White Earth Ojibwe)linguist, writer, historian
- David Treuer (Ojibwe)writer, novelist, critic and academic
- Jim Northrup (Fond du Lac Ojibwe)newspaper columnist, poet, performer, and political commentator
- Leslie Marmon Silko (Laguna Pueblo)novelist, poet, filmmaker
- Louise Erdrich (Turtle Mountain Anishinabe)novelist, poet, and author of children's books
- N. Scott Momaday (Kiowa)novelist, short story writer, essayist, and poet
- Robin Wall Kimmerer (Potawatomi)ecologist, writer
- Sherman Alexie (Spokane/Coeur d'Alene)novelist, short story writer, poet, and filmmaker
- Vine Deloria Jr. (Standing Rock Lakota)author, theologian, historian, and activist
- Winona LaDuke (White Earth Ojibwe)environmentalist, economist, and writer
The Cambridge Companion to Native American Literature by
Invisible, marginal, expected - these words trace the path of recognition for American Indian literature written in English since the late eighteenth century. This Companion chronicles and celebrates that trajectory by defining relevant institutional, historical, cultural, and gender contexts, by outlining the variety of genres written since the 1770s, and also by focusing on significant authors who established a place for Native literature in literary canons in the 1970s (Momaday, Silko, Welch, Ortiz, Vizenor), achieved international recognition in the 1980s (Erdrich), and performance-celebrity status in the 1990s (Harjo and Alexie). In addition to the seventeen chapters written by respected experts - Native and non-Native; American, British and European scholars - the Companion includes bio-bibliographies of forty authors, maps, suggestions for further reading, and a timeline which details major works of Native American literature and mainstream American literature, as well as significant social, cultural and historical events. An essential overview of this powerful literature.
Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2005
Native American Literatures: An Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, and Themes by
The earliest Native American writers wrote tribal histories or autobiographical accounts. Today, Native American writing is steeped in the oral traditions of many peoples and reflects a facility with language that is equally at home in prose or poetry. Native American Literatures is a sourcebook that can enhance any reader's appreciation of both the writers and their works. Cross referencing allows readers to move easily among the listings, guiding them to other examples of an author's works and from character to character within a given novel.
Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 1999
The Native American Renaissance: Literary Imagination and Achievement by
The outpouring of Native American literature that followed the publication of N.nbsp;Scott Momaday’s Pulitzer Prize#150;winning House Made of Dawn in 1968 continues unabated. Fiction and poetry, autobiography and discursive writing from such writers as James Welch, Gerald Vizenor, and Leslie Marmon Silko constitute what critic Kenneth Lincoln in 1983 termed the Native American Renaissance. This collection of essays takes the measure of that efflorescence. The contributors scrutinize writers from Momaday to Sherman Alexie, analyzing works by Native women, First Nations Canadian writers, postmodernists, and such theorists as Robert Warrior, Jace Weaver, and Craig Womack. Weaver’s own examination of the development of Native literary criticism since 1968 focuses on Native American literary nationalism. Alan R. Velie turns to the achievement of Momaday to examine the ways Native novelists have influenced one another. Post-renaissance and postmodern writers are discussed in company with newer writers such as Gordon Henry, Jr., and D.nbsp;L. Birchfield. Critical essays discuss the poetry of Simon Ortiz, Kimberly Blaeser, Diane Glancy, Luci Tapahonso, and Ray A. Young Bear, as well as the life writings of Janet Campbell Hale, Carter Revard, and Jim Barnes. An essay on Native drama examines the work of Hanay Geiogamah, the Native American Theater Ensemble, and Spider Woman Theatre. In the volume’s concluding essay, Kenneth Lincoln reflects on the history of the Native American Renaissance up to and beyond his seminal work, and discusses Native literature’s legacy and future. The essays collected here underscore the vitality of Native American literature and the need for debate on theory and ideology.
Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2013
Native American Storytelling: A Reader of Myths and Legends by
The myths and legends in this book have been selected both for their excellence as stories and because they illustrate the distinctive nature of Native American storytelling. A collection of Native American myths and legends. Selected for their excellence as stories, and because they illustrate the distinctive nature of Native American storytelling. Drawn from the oral traditions of all major areas of aboriginal North America. Reveals the highly practical functions of myths and legends in Native American societies. Illustrates American Indians' profound engagement with their natural environment. Edited by an outstanding interpreter of Native American oral stories.
Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2008
Speak Like Singing: Classics of Native American Literature by
Speak Like Singing focuses on select Native American writers showcasing the distinct voices and tribal diversities of living Indians. Through the pan-tribal medium of English, a second language for some and now a mother tongue for most, many of these Native writers begin as poets and go on to write novels. Pulitzer novelist and Kiowa poet N. Scott Momaday says, "I believe that a good many Indian writers rely upon a kind of poetic expression out of necessity, a necessary homage to the native tradition." Black Elk remembers the wan#65533;kia or "make-live" prophet of his Lakota Ghost Dance vision "spoke like singing." The leaves, grasses, waters, legg#65533;ds, wing#65533;ds, and crawling beings all listened and danced. "They were better able now to see the greenness of the world," Black Elk says, after heyoka curing songs, "the wideness of the sacred day, the colors of the earth, and to set these in their minds." This book honors that talk-song vision for all relatives. "Scholar, novelist, and essayist Ken Lincoln blends his fierce cultural commitments and propulsive, lyrical prose in page after page of this passionate yet reference-rich book, persuading us that native dream songs, ritual liturgies, trickster narratives, and modern novels deserve to sit at every table of American literature."--Peter Nabokov, author of Native American Testimony and Where Lightning Strikes "Lincoln is that rarity among literary critics, a paragon of empathy and generosity; he immerses himself, he rejoices in it. The proof lies in the burn and torsion of his prose that heartens his intelligence and extraordinary learning."--Cal Bedient, author of Eight Contemporary Poets American Indian authors included: Sherman Alexie Sherwin Bitsui Louise Erdrich Joy Harjo Linda Hogan N. Scott Momaday Greg Sarris Leslie Silko Luci apahonso James Welch
Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2007
Captured in the Middle: Tradition and Experience in Contemporary Native American Writing by
Sidner Larson's Captured in the Middle embodies the very nature of Indian storytelling, which is circular, drawing upon the personal experiences of the narrator at every turn. Larson teaches about contemporary American Indian literature by describing his own experiences as a child on the Fort Belknap Reservation in Montana and as a professor at the University of Oregon. Larson argues that contemporary Native American literary criticism is stalled. On one hand are the scholars who portray Indians stereotypically, assuming that the experiences of all tribal groups have largely been the same. On the other hand are those scholars who focus on the �authenticity� of the writer. In contrast, Larson considers the scholarship of Vine Deloria, Jr., who has a genuine understanding of the balance required in dealing with these issues. Two writers who have successfully redescribed many of the contemporary romantic stereotypes are James Welch and Louise Erdrich, both northern Plains Indians whose works are markedly different, their writing highlighting the disparate ways tribal groups have responded to colonization. Larson describes Indians today as postapocalyptic peoples who have already lived through the worst imaginable suffering. By confronting the issues of fear, suppression, and lost identity through literature, Indians may finally move forward to imagine and create for themselves a better future, serving as models for the similarly fractured cultures found throughout the world today.
Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2011
Domestic Subjects: Gender, Citizenship, and Law in Native American Literature by
Amid the decline of U.S. military campaigns against Native Americans in the late nineteenth century, assimilation policy arose as the new front in the Indian Wars, with its weapons the deployment of culture and law, and its locus the American Indian home and family. In this groundbreaking interdisciplinary work, Piatote tracks the double movement of literature and law in the contest over the aims of settler-national domestication and the defense of tribal-national culture, political rights, and territory.
Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2013
Listening to the Land: Native American Literary Responses to the Landscape by
This is a representation versus reality in Native American literary presentations of a land ethic.For better or worse, representations abound of Native Americans as a people with an innate and special connection to the earth. This study looks at the challenges faced by Native American writers who confront stereotypical representations as they assert their own ethical relationship with the earth. Lee Schweninger considers a range of genres (memoirs, novels, stories, essays) by Native writers from various parts of the United States. Contextualizing these works within the origins, evolution, and perpetuation of the ""green"" labels imposed upon Indians, Schweninger shows how writers often find themselves denying some land ethic stereotypes while seeming to embrace others.Taken together, the time periods covered in Listening to the Land span more than a hundred years, from Luther Standing Bear's description of his late-nineteenth-century life on the prairie to Linda Hogan's account of a 1999 Makah hunt of a grey whale. Two-thirds of the writers Schweninger considers, however, are well-known voices from the second half of the twentieth century, including N. Scott Momaday, Louise Erdrich, Vine Deloria Jr., Gerald Vizenor, and Louis Owens.Few ecocritical studies have focused on indigenous environmental attitudes, in comparison to related work done by historians and anthropologists. ""Listening to the Land"" will narrow this gap in the scholarship; moreover, it will add individual Native American perspectives to an understanding of what, to these writers, is a genuine Native American philosophy regarding the land.
Call Number: Online Access or Click title to check print availabilityPublication Date: 2008
Native American Legends of the Great Lakes and the Mississippi Valley by Call Number: Click title for availabilityPublication Date: 2000
The Queerness of Native American Literature by
With a new and more inclusive perspective for the growing field of queer Native studies, Lisa Tatonetti provides a genealogy of queer Native writing after Stonewall. Looking across a broad range of literature, Tatonetti offers the first overview and guide to queer Native literature from its rise in the 1970s to the present day. In The Queerness of Native American Literature, Tatonetti recovers ties between two simultaneous renaissances of the late twentieth century: queer literature and Native American literature. She foregrounds how Indigeneity intervenes within and against dominant interpret
Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2014
Reading Native American Literature by
Native American literature explores divides between public and private cultures, ethnicities and experience. In this volume, Joseph Coulombe argues that Native American writers use diverse narrative strategies to engage with readers and are 'writing for connection' with both Native and non-Native audiences. Beginning with a historical overview of Native American literature, this book presents focused readings of key texts including: * N. Scott Momaday's House Made of Dawn * Leslie Marmon Silko'sCeremony * Gerald Vizenor's Bearheart * James Welch's Fool's Crow * Sherman Alexie's The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven * Linda Hogan's Power. Suggesting new ways towards a sensitive engagement with tribal cultures, this book provides not only a comprehensive introduction to Native American literature but also a critical framework through which it may be read.
Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2016
Red on Red: Native American Literary Separatism by
How can a square peg fit into a round hole? It can't. How can a door be unlocked with a pencil? It can't. How can Native literature be read applying conventional postmodern literary criticism? It can't. That is Craig Womack's argument in Red on Red. Indian communities have their own intellectual and cultural traditions that are well equipped to analyze Native literary production. These traditions should be the eyes through which the texts are viewed. To analyze a Native text with the methods currently dominant in the academy, according to the author, is like studying the stars with a magnifying glass. In an unconventional and piercingly humorous appeal, Womack creates a dialogue between essays on Native literature and fictional letters from Creek characters who comment on the essays. Through this conceit, Womack demonstrates an alternative approach to American Indian literature, with the letters serving as a "Creek chorus" that offers answers to the questions raised in his more traditional essays. Topics range from a comparison of contemporary oral versions of Creek stories and the translations of those stories dating back to the early twentieth century, to a queer reading of Cherokee author Lynn Riggs's play The Cherokee Night. Womack argues that the meaning of works by native peoples inevitably changes through evaluation by the dominant culture. Red on Red is a call for self-determination on the part of Native writers and a demonstration of an important new approach to studying Native works -- one that engages not only the literature, but also the community from which the work grew.
Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 1999
Sky Loom: Native American Myth, Story, and Song by
Sky Loom offers a dazzling introduction to Native American myths, stories, and songs drawn from previous collections by acclaimed translator and poet Brian Swann. With a general introduction by Swann, Sky Loom is a stunning collection that provides a glimpse into the intricacies and beauties of story and myth, placing them in their cultural, historical, and linguistic contexts. Each of the twenty-six selections is translated and introduced by a well-known expert on Native oral literatures and offers entry into the cultures and traditions of several different tribes and bands, including the Yupiit and the Tlingits of the polar North; the Coast Salish and the Kwakwaka'wakw of the Pacific Northwest; the Navajos, the Pimas, and the Yaquis of the Southwest; the Lakota Sioux and the Plains Crees of the Great Plains; the Ojibwes of the Great Lakes; the Naskapis and the Eastern Crees of the Hudson Bay area in Canada; and the Munsees of the Northeast. Sky Loom takes the reader on a wide-ranging journey through literary traditions older than the "discovery" of the New World.
Call Number: Online Access or Click title to check print availabilityPublication Date: 2014
Music
Radio
- Pow Wow RadioYour source for 24/7 Pow Wow music!
- Native Voice OneNative American Radio Network
- WOJBLac Courte Oreilles Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Radio (Hayward, WI)
Musicians, Bands, & Drums
- A Tribe Called RedCanadian electronic music group, who blend instrumental hip hop, reggae, moombahton and dubstep-influenced dance music with elements of First Nations music
- Bill MillerAward-winning Native American recording artist, performer, songwriter, activist, painter, and world-class native flute player.
- 'Rumble' Celebrates Rock 'N' Roll's Native American RootsPBS article about the documentary 'Rumble'
Scroll to the bottom to hear songs by artists featured in 'Rumble' - Link Wray & His Wray MenAmerican rock and roll guitarist, songwriter, and vocalist who became popular in the late 1950s
The Encyclopedia of Native Music: More than a Century of Recordings from Wax Cylinder to the Internet by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2005The Encyclopedia of Native Music recognizes the multifaceted contributions made by Native recording artists by tracing the history of their commercially released music. It provides an overview of the surprising abundance of recorded Native music while underlining its historical value.
Indigenous Pop: Native American Music from Jazz to Hip Hop by Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2016Popular music compels, it entertains, and it has the power to attract and move audiences. With that in mind, the editors of Indigenous Pop showcase the contributions of American Indian musicians to popular forms of music, including jazz, blues, country-western, rock and roll, reggae, punk, and hip hop.
Imagining Native America in Music by Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2008This is a comprehensive look at musical presentations of native America from the pre-colonial past through the American West and up to the present. The author demonstrates how music contributed to the complex process of cultural mediation.
Heartbeat of the People: Music and Dance of the Northern Pow-wow by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2002The intertribal pow-wow is the most widespread venue for traditional Indian music and dance in North America. Heartbeat of the People is an insider's journey through the dances and music, the traditions and regalia, and into the functions and significance of these vital cultural events
Music of the First Nations: Tradition and Innovation in Native North America by Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2009This unique anthology presents a wide variety of approaches to an ethnomusicology of Inuit and Native North American musical expression.
Recording Culture: Powwow Music and the Aboriginal Recording Industry on the Northern Plains by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2012Recording Culture is an exploration of the Aboriginal music industry and the powwow social world that supports it.
Powwow by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2005This anthology examines the origins, meanings, and enduring power of the powwow.
Pow wow
Background Information
- Pow wow from the Encyclopedia of the Great PlainsEncyclopedia of the Great Plains published by the University of Nebraska - Lincoln. Contains 1,316 entries contributed by almost 1,000 scholars.
- What is a Pow Wow?Powwows.com
Etiquette
- Powwow EtiquettePowwows.com
- Wacipi - Powwow (film)Minnesota Public Television
- Powwow 101: EtiquettePrescott Powwow (Arizona)
Pow wow Highway
- Gathering of NationsApril in Albuquerque, New Mexico
- Indian Summer FestivalSeptember in Milwaukee, WI
- Drumhop.comListing of upcoming pow wows for Wisconsin
- Heartbeat of the People: Music and Dance of the Northern Pow-wow by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2002The intertribal pow-wow is the most widespread venue for traditional Indian music and dance in North America. Heartbeat of the People is an insider's journey through the dances and music, the traditions and regalia, and into the functions and significance of these vital cultural events
Ho-Chunk Powwows and the Politics of Tradition by Call Number: Online Access or Click title to check print availabilityPublication Date: 2016Grant Arndt examines Wisconsin Ho-Chunk powwow traditions and the meanings of cultural performances and rituals in the wake of North American settler colonialism.
Indians and Wannabes: Native American Powwow Dancing in the Northeast and Beyond by Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2013Axtmann offers an introduction to the many complexities of the tradition and explores the history of powwow performance, the variety of their setups, the dances themselves, and the phenomenon of "playing Indian."- Powwow by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2005This anthology examines the origins, meanings, and enduring power of the powwow.
Public Native America: Tribal Self-Representations in Museums, Powwows, and Casinos by Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2006Mary Lawlor explores the process of tribal self-definition. Focusing on architectural and interior designs, as well as performance styles, she reveals how a complex and often surprising cultural dynamic is created when Native Americans create lavish displays for the public's participation and consumption.- Recording Culture: Powwow Music and the Aboriginal Recording Industry on the Northern Plains by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2012Recording Culture is an exploration of the Aboriginal music industry and the powwow social world that supports it.
