First Nations Studies
Ask a Librarian
History
- Wisconsin Public Television: Tribal Histories VideosWisconsin Public Television’s Tribal Histories project is part of Wisconsin’s Act 31 Initiative to provide educational material about American Indians in Wisconsin to the state’s schools of education and K-12 teachers.
We Shall RemainCall Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2009These five documentaries spanning almost four hundred years tell the story of pivotal moments in U.S. history from the Native American perspective, upending two-dimensional stereotypes of American Indians as simply ferocious warriors or peaceable lovers of the land.
The Frontier Newspapers and the Coverage of the Plains Indian Wars by Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2010This book offers a revealing look at how newspapers covered the key events of the Plains Indian Wars between 1862-1891--reporting that offers some surprising viewpoints as well as biases and misrepresentations.
City Indian: Native American Activism in Chicago, 1893-1934 by Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2015In City Indian, Rosalyn R. LaPier and David R. M. Beck tell the engaging story of American Indian men and women who migrated to Chicago from across America.
Countering Colonization: Native American Women and Great Lakes Missions, 1630-1900 by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 1992With Countering Colonization, Carol Devens offers a well-documented, revisionary history of Native American women.
Native American Women: A Biographical Dictionary by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2001This A-Z reference contains 275 biographical entries on Native American women, past and present, from many different walks of life. Written by more than 70 contributors, most of whom are leading American Indian historians, the entries examine the complex and diverse roles of Native American women in contemporary and traditional cultures.
Native American Testimony: A Chronicle of Indian-White Relations from Prophecy to the Present, 1492-2000 by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 1999In a series of powerful and moving documents, anthropologist Peter Nabokov presents a history of Native American and white relations as seen though Indian eyes and told through Indian voices. Beginning with the Indians' first encounters with European explorers, traders, missionaries, settlers, and soldiers to the challenges confronting Native American culture today, Native American Testimony spans five hundred years of interchange between the two peoples.
The Memory of All Ancient Customs: Native American Diplomacy in the Colonial Hudson Valley by
In The Memory of All Ancient Customs, Tom Arne Midtrød examines the complex patterns of diplomatic, political, and social communication among the American Indian peoples of the Hudson Valley-including the Mahicans, Wappingers, and Esopus Indians-from the early seventeenth century through the American Revolutionary era.
Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2012
One Vast Winter Count: The Native American West before Lewis and Clark by Call Number: Online Access or Click title to check print availabilityPublication Date: 2003Emphasizing conflict and change, One Vast Winter Count offers a new look at the early history of the region by blending ethnohistory, colonial history, and frontier history. Drawing on a wide range of oral and archival sources from across the West, Colin G. Calloway offers an unparalleled glimpse at the lives of generations of Native peoples in a western land soon to be overrun.
Native American Identity in Sports: Creating and Preserving a Culture by Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2012This collection of essays examines how sport has contributed to shaping and expressing Native American identity from the attempt of the old Indian Schools to Americanize Native Americans through sport to the Indian mascot controversy and what it says about the broader public view of Native Americans.
Team Spirits: The Native American Mascots Controversy by Call Number: Online Access or Click title to check print availabilityPublication Date: 2001Team Spirits is the first comprehensive look at the Native American mascots controversy. In this work activists and academics explore the origins of Native American mascots, the messages they convey, and the reasons for their persistence into the twenty-first century.
Encyclopedia of Native American Wars and Warfare by Call Number: Click title to check availabilityPublication Date: 2005Encyclopedia of Native American Wars and Warfare looks past the legends, misconceptions, biased reports, and myths to present an accurate and objective view of these hard-fought engagements.
Citizen Indians: Native American Intellectuals, Race, and Reform by Call Number: Online Access or Click title to check print availabilityPublication Date: 2005Maddox examines the work of American Indian intellectuals and reformers in the context of the Society of American Indians, which brought together educated, professional Indians in a period when the "Indian question" loomed large.
Oral History
Native American Oral Traditions: Collaboration and Interpretation by
This collection provides a benchmark that helps secure the position of collaboration between Native American and non-Native American scholars in the forefront of study of Native oral traditions. Seven sets of intercultural authors present Native American oral texts with commentary, exploring dimensions of perspective, discovery, and meaning that emerge through collaborative translation and interpretation. The texts studied all come from the American West but include a rich variety of material, since their tribal sources range from the Yupik in the Arctic to the Yaqui in the Sonoran Desert. This presentation of jointly authored work is timely: it addresses increasing interest in, calls for, and movement toward reflexivity in the relationships between scholars and the Native communities they study, and it responds to the renewed commitment in those communities to asserting more control over representations of their traditions. Although Native and academic communities have long tried to work together in the study of culture and literature, the relationship has been awkward and imbalanced toward the academics. In many cases, the contributions of Native assistants, informants, translators, and field workers to the work of professional ethnographers has been inadequately credited, ignored, or only recently uncovered. Native Americans usually have not participated in planning and writing such projects. Native American Oral Traditions provides models for overcoming such obstacles to interpreting and understanding Native oral literature in relation to the communities and cultures from which it comes.
Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2001
- Native Americans Oral History CollectionsNative Peoples of the Americas Oral History Collections are interviews representing the lives and history of native Americans. From the University of Florida Samuel Proctor Oral History Program Digital Collections.
- Oral Tradition, Native AmericanInformation on Oral Tradition of American Indians from the Oklahoma Historical Society.
- Native American Oral History Project TranscriptsFrom the Pettus Archives at Winthrop University. The Native American Oral History Project Transcripts were the result of an oral history project conducted by the History Department of St. Louis Community College, Missouri in 1978 titled, Listening to Indians.
- Oral History Collections & GuidesGuide on oral history collections from Arizona State University.
Language
- Native Languages of the AmericasList of Native American Indian Tribes and Languages
- The WaysStories on Culture & Language from Native Communities around the Central Great Lakes
- Oneida Language ToolsThis site offers some tools for studying and learning the Oneida language from the UWGB First Nations Studies program.
Linguistic Ideologies of Native American Language Revitalization by Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2014This volume argues thatnbsp;the cookie-cutter application of the official language ideology is unethical because it undermines the intent of language revitalization itself:nbsp; the continued daily, meaningful use of a heritage language in its speech community.nbsp;
Native American Language Ideologies: Beliefs, Practices, and Struggles in Indian Country by Call Number: Online Access or Click title to check print availabilityPublication Date: 2009This volume samples the language ideologiesof a wide range of Native American communities--from the Canadian Yukon toGuatemala--to show their role in sociocultural transformation.
Crossing Mountains: Native American Language Education in Public Schools by Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2012Using case studies of school districts on the Flathead Indian Reservation in Montana, Crossing Mountains provides important insights about integrating Native-language learning into public education. Phyllis Ngai argues that carefully designed and inclusive Native-language programs can benefit communities and students regardless of ethnic identity by providing for language-revitalization and promoting intercultural competence.
